top of page

The Half-Moon Path



By Peter Harrison


Amadeus, the wolf, sniffs the night air and asks:

‘Who is it that stalks my half-moon path?’


‘It is I, Luna, and I’m on an urgent quest.

Oh, brave wolf, will you help me with my journey west?’


Amadeus agrees but for toll.

‘I’ll carry you west, but it will cost you a soul.’


Luna accepts the charge and climbs onto his back,

and they run off west together, down the half-moon track.


Through snowfields, forests and deserts, they run.

Keeping far ahead of the ever-rising sun.


As they race further west, Luna's starts to shine brighter.

And the wolf can now sense that she’s getting much lighter.


They finally reach the western shore,

and Luna leaps up from the wolf and begins to soar.


‘I am sorry, brave wolf, but this is where my quest must end.

Though, I haven’t forgotten your toll, my friend.’


‘Before the 30th day, howl into the sky,

and I’ll gift you a soul when I hear your cry.’


And from that moment forward, before the 30th day.

Wolves will howl, howl, and howl the whole night away.


And just like she promised, Luna will gift them a soul.

On a full moon night, wolves are all paid their toll.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page